CETA - Canadian-European Trade Agreement

CETA stands for "Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement" and is a comprehensive economic and trade agreement between the EU and Canada. It was already negotiated in 2009, but was not concluded until September 21, 2017. The aim is to reduce trade barriers and customs duties.

In the current composition of the EU, a total of 28 countries are party to the agreement. Together they have 485.19 million inhabitants and thus represent around 6.2% of the world population. The economic performance of all participating countries was most recently 19,079.38 trillion US dollars, which corresponds to 19.85% of the world economy.
Map of member countries: CETA - Canadian-European Trade Agreement
Austria09/21/20178.96 M84,000 km²477.08 bn US$
Belgium09/21/201711.59 M31,000 km²599.88 bn US$
Bulgaria09/21/20176.90 M111,000 km²80.27 bn US$
Canada09/21/201738.25 M9,985,000 km²1,990.76 bn US$
Croatia09/21/20173.90 M57,000 km²67.84 bn US$
Cyprus09/21/20171.22 M9,250 km²27.72 bn US$
Czechia09/21/201710.70 M79,000 km²282.34 bn US$
Denmark09/21/20175.86 M43,000 km²397.10 bn US$
Estonia09/21/20171.33 M45,000 km²36.26 bn US$
Finland09/21/20175.54 M338,000 km²299.16 bn US$
France09/21/201767.50 M549,000 km²2,937.47 bn US$
Germany09/21/201783.13 M358,000 km²4,223.12 bn US$
Greece09/21/201710.66 M132,000 km²216.24 bn US$
Hungary09/21/20179.71 M93,000 km²182.28 bn US$
Ireland09/21/20175.03 M70,000 km²498.56 bn US$
Italy09/21/201759.07 M301,000 km²2,099.88 bn US$
Latvia09/21/20171.88 M64,000 km²38.87 bn US$
Lithuania09/21/20172.80 M65,000 km²65.50 bn US$
Luxembourg09/21/20170.64 M2,590 km²86.71 bn US$
Malta09/21/20170.52 M320 km²17.19 bn US$
Netherlands09/21/201717.53 M42,000 km²1,018.01 bn US$
Poland09/21/201737.78 M313,000 km²674.05 bn US$
Portugal09/21/201710.30 M92,000 km²249.89 bn US$
Romania09/21/201719.12 M238,000 km²284.09 bn US$
Slovakia09/21/20175.45 M49,000 km²114.87 bn US$
Slovenia09/21/20172.11 M21,000 km²61.53 bn US$
Spain09/21/201747.33 M506,000 km²1,425.28 bn US$
Sweden09/21/201710.42 M447,000 km²627.44 bn US$

Former member countries

United Kingdom01/31/202067.33 M244,000 km²3,186.86 bn US$

Dependent territories

Some of the above-mentioned Member States have other external territories dependent on them. These are not independent states, but they do have some economic and political autonomy. The treaties concluded by the CETA apply to them at least in part. These countries are not listed as official member states.

ÅlandNorthern EuropeTerritory of Finland
ArubaCaribbeanTerritory of the Netherlands Kingdom
BonaireCaribbeanTerritory of the Netherlands
Faroe IslandsNorthern EuropeTerritory of the Danish Kingdom
French Antarctic LandsAntarcticaTerritory of France
French GuianaSouth AmericaTerritory of France
French PolynesiaPolynesiaTerritory of France
GreenlandNorth AmericaTerritory of the Danish Kingdom
GuadeloupeCaribbeanTerritory of France
MartiniqueCaribbeanTerritory of France
MayotteEastern AfricaTerritory of France
New CaledoniaMelanesiaTerritory of France
ReunionEastern AfricaTerritory of France
Saint BarthelemyCaribbeanTerritory of France
Saint MartinCaribbeanAutonomous territory of the Netherlands Kingdom
Saint Pierre and MiquelonNorth AmericaTerritory of France
St. MartinCaribbeanTerritory of France
Wallis and FutunaPolynesiaTerritory of France