Members of the NATO:
North Atlantic Treaty Organization

NATO is an alliance of 31 member states. In addition to the USA and Canada on the American continent, numerous European states are members. All member states together cover an area of 24.93 million km² and about 954.55 million people. This is 16.49 percent of the world's habitable area and 12.10 percent of the world's population.

The abbreviation "NATO" here stands for "North Atlantic Treaty Organization," which translates roughly as an "organization of the North Atlantic Treaty." It was founded in 1949 mainly as an alliance of states for the military defense of its members.

NATO Headquarters is based in Brussels (previously London and Paris).

Official website:

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization is primarily a military alliance between the current 31 countries. Its purpose is to preserve democratic values and to provide mutual support in defense and security matters. In the context of crisis management, a so-called mutual assistance clause (Article 5 of the Washington Treaty) applies. If a member state is attacked, all other NATO countries are obliged to help the affected state. NATO itself refers to this as collective self-defense - including the use of armed forces.

Map of member countries: NATO - North Atlantic Treaty Organization
Albania20092.81 M29,000 km²
Belgium194911.59 M31,000 km²
Bulgaria20046.88 M111,000 km²
Canada194938.25 M9,985,000 km²
Croatia20093.90 M57,000 km²
Czechia199910.51 M79,000 km²
Denmark19495.86 M43,000 km²
Estonia20041.33 M45,000 km²
Finland20235.54 M338,000 km²
France194967.75 M549,000 km²
Germany195583.20 M358,000 km²
Greece195210.64 M132,000 km²
Hungary19999.71 M93,000 km²
Iceland19490.37 M103,000 km²
Italy194959.11 M301,000 km²
Latvia20041.88 M64,000 km²
Lithuania20042.80 M65,000 km²
Luxembourg19490.64 M2,590 km²
Montenegro20170.62 M14,000 km²
Netherlands194917.53 M42,000 km²
North Macedonia20202.07 M26,000 km²
Norway19495.41 M385,000 km²
Poland199937.75 M313,000 km²
Portugal194910.33 M92,000 km²
Romania200419.12 M238,000 km²
Slovakia20045.45 M49,000 km²
Slovenia20042.11 M21,000 km²
Spain198247.42 M506,000 km²
Turkey195284.78 M785,000 km²
United Kingdom194967.33 M244,000 km²
United States1949331.89 M9,832,000 km²

Originally, NATO was founded by France, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg to coordinate the European economy, culture and self-defence after the Second World War and to prevent a resurgence of Germany. In the immediate post-war years, Russia developed into a new military power, which is why the then NATO countries turned to the USA for military protection.

In 1949, the North Atlantic Treaty was signed, under which all member states assured each other of mutual protection. In the years that followed, other European countries and Canada joined the Alliance to protect themselves from the communist Eastern Bloc. Turkey joined in 1952.

Germany's accession to NATO in 1955 played an important role in several respects. It included a country against which the original version of NATO still wanted to defend itself against. With the Paris Treaties, West Germany was once again recognized as a sovereign state and integrated into the Western defence strategy. As a counter-reaction, the countries of the Eastern bloc joined forces in the same year to form the Warsaw Pact. It is worth mentioning that some of the member countries of the Warsaw Pact, which was dissolved in 1991, subsequently allied themselves with the West and thus positioned themselves against the Soviet Union. These were (in chronological order) Poland, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria and Albania.

Former member countries

Algeria196244.18 M2,382,000 km²
Malta19640.52 M320 km²

Dependent territories

Some of the above-mentioned member states have other external territories dependent on them. These are not independent states, but they do have some economic and political autonomy. The NATO treaties apply to them at least in part. These countries are not listed as official member states.

ÅlandNorthern EuropeTerritory of Finland
American SamoaPolynesiaSelf-governing territory of the USA
AnguillaCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
ArubaCaribbeanTerritory of the Netherlands Kingdom
BermudaNorth AmericaSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Bouvet IslandSouth AmericaTerritory of Norway
British Indian Ocean TerritoryEastern AfricaTerritory of the United Kingdom
British Virgin IslandsCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Caribbean NetherlandsCaribbeanTerritory of the Netherlands
Cayman IslandsCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Falkland IslandsSouth AmericaSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Faroe IslandsNorthern EuropeTerritory of the Danish Kingdom
French Antarctic LandsAntarcticaTerritory of France
French GuianaSouth AmericaTerritory of France
French PolynesiaPolynesiaTerritory of France
GibraltarSouthern EuropeSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
GreenlandNorth AmericaTerritory of the Danish Kingdom
GuadeloupeCaribbeanTerritory of France
GuamMicronesiaSelf-governing unincorporated territory of the United States
GuernseyNorthern EuropeAutonomous Crown Dependency of the United Kingdom
Isle of ManNorthern EuropeAutonomous Crown Dependency of the United Kingdom
JerseyNorthern EuropeAutonomous Crown Dependency of the United Kingdom
MartiniqueCaribbeanTerritory of France
MayotteEastern AfricaTerritory of France
MontserratCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
New CaledoniaMelanesiaTerritory of France
Northern MarianasMicronesiaTerritory of the United States
Outlying IslandsMicronesiaTerritory of the United States
Pitcairn IslandsPolynesiaBritish overseas territory
Puerto RicoCaribbeanUnincorporated territory of the US
ReunionEastern AfricaTerritory of France
Saint BarthelemyCaribbeanTerritory of France
Saint HelenaWestern AfricaLimited self-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Saint MartinCaribbeanAutonomous territory of the Netherlands Kingdom
Saint Pierre and MiquelonNorth AmericaTerritory of France
South GeorgiaSouth AmericaTerritory of the United Kingdom
St. MartinCaribbeanTerritory of France
SvalbardNorthern EuropeTerritory of Norway
Turks and Caicos IslandsCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Virgin IslandsCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the USA
Wallis and FutunaPolynesiaTerritory of France