Members of the TPP:
Trans-Pacific Partnership

The TPP is a trade agreement with currently 10 member states, which consist of countries bordering the Pacific Ocean. Geographical focus is on South East Asia, Australia and the West Coast of America.

All member states together cover an area of 13.06 m km² and a population of about 473.46 m. This is 8.6% of the world's habitable area or 6.1% of the world's population. Together, the 10 countries have a gross domestic product of 9,085.34 bn US dollars, representing about 10.72% of the world economy.
Map of member countries: TPP - Trans-Pacific Partnership
Australia201625.69 M7,741,000 km²1,327.84 bn US$
Brunei20160.44 M5,770 km²12.01 bn US$
Chile201619.12 M757,000 km²252.94 bn US$
Japan2016125.84 M378,000 km²5,057.76 bn US$
Malaysia201632.37 M330,000 km²337.01 bn US$
Mexico2016128.93 M1,964,000 km²1,073.92 bn US$
New Zealand20165.08 M268,000 km²210.70 bn US$
Peru201632.97 M1,285,000 km²202.01 bn US$
Singapore20165.69 M719 km²340.00 bn US$
Vietnam201697.34 M331,000 km²271.16 bn US$

The TTP Trade Agreement came into force in 2016 after 7 years of negotiations. Originally, the USA and Canada also participated. Shortly after US President Donald Trump took office, the USA cancelled its participation at the beginning of 2017. In November 2017, the Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau also announced his withdrawal from the agreement. Instead, a replacing trade agreement CPTPP ("Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership") was continued without the USA, but with Canada.

The aim of the agreement is to reduce tariffs, particularly in the areas of agriculture, vehicle construction and clothing. In addition, trade regulations are to be simplified and intellectual property rights extended.

Talks are currently being held with numerous other countries that could join the alliance. These include large economies such as India, Indonesia, the United Kingdom and South Korea.

Former member countries

CanadaNov 201738.04 M9,985,000 km²1,645.42 bn US$
United StatesJan 2017331.50 M9,832,000 km²20,953.03 tn US$

Dependent territories

Some of the above-mentioned Member States have other external territories dependent on them. These are not independent states, but they do have some economic and political autonomy. The treaties concluded by the TPP apply to them at least in part. These countries are not listed as official member states.

Christmas IslandAustralia/New Zealandnicht selbstregiertes Territorium Australiens
Cocos IslandsAustralia/New Zealandnicht selbstregiertes Territorium Australiens
Heard and McDonaldAustralia/New ZealandTerritory of Australia
Norfolk IslandAustralia/New ZealandTerritorium Australiens
TokelauPolynesiaTerritorium Neuseelands