Timezone in the British Indian Ocean Territory

Indian Chagos Time (ICT)

The differences between time zones to each other are always specified in relation to the "Universal Time Coordinated" (UTC), the time on the prime meridian (zero longitude). Phoenix, for example, is on the 122nd degree of longitude west and thus in the UTC-7 time zone. Indian Chagos Time is consistent with UTC +6.

The Indian Chagos Time does not have an associated daylight saving time.

The Indian Chagos Time applies only to British Indian Ocean Territory.

Current Indian Chagos Time:
Tuesday, June 06, 2023

Countries in Indian Chagos Time

ICT time applies to the following countries:

British Indian Ocean TerritorycountrywideICTnone

Further Countries in the same timezone of UTC +6

Although the timezone is named "Indian Chagos Time", it is mostly for politcal reasons. It simply means that, e.g., the beginning and ending of daylight savings time always apply here uniformly. There are some other countries, in which the clock strikes the same hour. These countries have the same temporal distance to UTC (Universal Time Coordinated):


The time zones and times listed here are based on the IANA "Olsen" time zone database. Designations and their translations were adapted separately. Version used and update: Version 2022.4 on 11/27/2022.
Countries with DSTAll Countries with DSTA summary of all countries that currently observe Daylight Saving Time with further info on introductions and upcoming changes.
Timezones: converterInternational Timezone ConverterConvert any time worldwide into your local time
Date and time formatsDate and time: International formattingThe date and time are notated differently in many countries. What do AM and PM mean? How do you write a date?