Public Holidays

Public holidays in Singapore 2022-2026

Singapore is a multinational and multicultural metropolis. And that's exactly what the local holidays look like. There are 3 general, 2 Chinese, 2 Islamic, 2 Christian and 1 Buddhist public holiday. There are certainly other holidays celebrated within the respective communities, but they are usually not free of work.

The Chinese New Year is based on the Chinese lunisolar calendar, which is somewhat shorter than our Gregorian calendar. The Islamic holidays are also calculated according to a calendar aligned to the moon, but are again somewhat different.

By the way: If a public holiday falls on a Sunday, the following Monday is declared a non-working day instead.

Back to overview: Singapore

Non-movable holidays

Non-statutory holidays are written in gray.

Jan, 1stNew Year's Day
May, 1stLabor Day
Aug, 9thIndependence Day
Dec, 24thChristmas Eve
Dec, 25thChristmas Day
Dec, 26thBoxing Day
Dec, 31stNew Year's Eve

Moving Holidays in Singapore

Chinese New Years FestivalFeb, 1stJan, 22ndFeb, 10thJan, 29thFeb, 17th
2nd day in Chinese New YearFeb, 2ndJan, 23rdFeb, 11thJan, 30thFeb, 18th
Good FridayApr, 15thApr, 7thMar, 29thApr, 18thApr, 3rd
Easter SundayApr, 17thApr, 9thMar, 31stApr, 20thApr, 5th
Easter MondayApr, 18thApr, 10thApr, 1stApr, 21stApr, 6th
Festival of breaking the fastMay, 2ndApr, 21stApr, 9thMar, 30thMar, 19th
Mother's DayMay, 8thMay, 14thMay, 12thMay, 11thMay, 10th
Vesakh (Buddhist holiday)May, 16thMay, 5thMay, 23rdMay, 12thMay, 31st
Father's DayJun, 19thJun, 18thJun, 16thJun, 15thJun, 21st
Festival of SacrificeJul, 9thJun, 28thJun, 16thJun, 6thMay, 26th
Diwali (Hindu festival of lights)Oct, 23rdNov, 11thOct, 31stOct, 20thNov, 7th

Singapore: TourismDevelopment and importance of tourism for SingaporeInternational travelers and tourism sector revenues from 1995-2020 in Singapore, including comparison with other countries in Southeast Asia
Singapore: Sunrise + sunsetSunrise and sunset in SingaporeTimes of sunrise and sunset for the most important cities in Singapore and the avg. length of daylight per month
Turkey: Public HolidaysPublic holidays in Turkey 2022-2026Statutory and inofficial holidays in Turkey for 2022 to 2026