Zeitzone in Greenland

East Greenland Time (EGT)

The differences of the several time zones to each other are always specified in relation to the "Coordinated Universal Time" (UTC), the time on the prime meridian (zero longitude). The East Greenland Time is consistent with UTC -1.

Countries with the East Greenland Time, in which a switch to daylight saving time is common, turn the clock forward by 1 hour in summer. Like this they switch to Eastern Greenland Summer Time (EGST) and reach UTC +0.

The East Greenland Time applies only to some parts of Greenland.

Countries in EGT

The East Greenland Time applies to the following countries:

CountryRegionStandard timeDST

Further Countries in the same timezone of UTC -1

Although the timezone is named "East Greenland Time", it has mostly politcal reasons. It simply means that eg beginning and ending of daylight saving time always uniformly apply here. There are some other countries, in which the clock strikes just the same hour. These countries have the same temporal distance to UTC (Universal Time Coordinated):