RCEP - Regional, comprehensive economic partnership

The RCEP is a free trade zone in Eastern Asia and Australia, established in November 2020. It was initiated by China and accounts for around one third of the world's economic output. It is one of the largest free trade agreements in the world. The 15 participating countries cover an area of 22.54 million km² and a population of around 2.27 billion. This corresponds to approximately 14.97% of the earth's habitable surface and 29.54% of the world's population.

The agreement primarily involves the reduction of customs duties and is thus intended to simplify supply chains. In addition to the movement of goods, it also covers services, investments, telecommunications and copyright.
AustraliaAustralia/New Zealand7,741,000 km²25.36 M
BruneiSoutheast Asia5,770 km²0.43 M
BurmaSoutheast Asia677,000 km²54.05 M
CambodiaSoutheast Asia181,000 km²16.49 M
ChinaEast Asia9,563,000 km²1,397.72 M
IndonesiaSoutheast Asia1,914,000 km²270.63 M
JapanEast Asia378,000 km²126.26 M
LaosSoutheast Asia237,000 km²7.17 M
MalaysiaSoutheast Asia330,000 km²31.95 M
New ZealandAustralia/New Zealand268,000 km²4.92 M
PhilippinesSoutheast Asia300,000 km²108.12 M
SingaporeSoutheast Asia719 km²5.70 M
South KoreaEast Asia100,000 km²51.71 M
ThailandSoutheast Asia513,000 km²69.63 M
VietnamSoutheast Asia331,000 km²96.46 M

Dependent territories

Some of the above member states have other dependent outlying areas. These are not independent states, but they do have some economic and political autonomy. The treaties concluded by the RCEP apply to them at least in part. However, these countries are not listed as official member states.

Christmas IslandAustralia/New Zealandnicht selbstregiertes Territorium Australiens
Cocos (Keeling) IslandsAustralia/New Zealandnicht selbstregiertes Territorium Australiens
Heard Island and McDonald IslandsAustralia/New ZealandTerritory of Australia
Hong KongEast AsiaSonderverwaltungszone Chinas
MacaoEast AsiaSonderverwaltungszone Chinas
Norfolk IslandAustralia/New ZealandTerritorium Australiens
TaiwanEast AsiaTerritory of China
TokelauPolynesiaTerritorium Neuseelands