COMESSA members
Community of Sahel-Saharan States

The COMESSA is a trade agreement of currently 28 countries mainly located in Western Africa and in Eastern Africa.

All member states comprise a total area of 14.66 million km² and about 683.27 million people. This is 9.7% of the habitable area around the world and 8.9% of the world population. With an economic output of 1,356.40 bn US dollars annually, they represent around 2 percent of the global economy.

Map of member countries: COMESSA - Community of Sahel-Saharan States

Benin200211.80 M115,000 km²
Burkina Faso199820.32 M274,000 km²
Central Africa19994.75 M623,000 km²
Chad199815.95 M1,284,000 km²
Comoros20070.85 M1,861 km²
Djibouti20000.97 M23,000 km²
Egypt2001100.39 M1,001,000 km²
Eritrea19993.50 M118,000 km²
Gambia20002.35 M11,000 km²
Ghana200530.42 M239,000 km²
Guinea200712.77 M246,000 km²
Guinea-Bissau20041.92 M36,000 km²
Ivory Coast200425.72 M322,000 km²
Kenya200852.57 M580,000 km²
Liberia20044.94 M111,000 km²
Libya19986.78 M1,760,000 km²
Mali199819.66 M1,240,000 km²
Mauritania20084.53 M1,031,000 km²
Morocco200136.47 M447,000 km²
Niger199823.31 M1,267,000 km²
Nigeria2001200.96 M924,000 km²
Sao Tome and Principe20080.22 M960 km²
Senegal200016.30 M197,000 km²
Sierra Leone20057.81 M72,000 km²
Somalia200115.44 M638,000 km²
Sudan199842.81 M1,879,000 km²
Togo20028.08 M57,000 km²
Tunisia200111.69 M164,000 km²