CETA - Canadian-European Trade Agreement

CETA stands for "Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement" and is a comprehensive economic and trade agreement between the EU and Canada. It was already negotiated in 2009, but was not concluded until September 21, 2017. The aim is to reduce trade barriers and customs duties.

In the current composition of the EU, a total of 28 countries are party to the agreement. Together they have 485.10 million inhabitants and thus represent around 6.3% of the world population. The economic performance of all participating countries was most recently 17,362.87 trillion US dollars, which corresponds to 19.78% of the world economy.
Austria21.09.2017Western Europe84,000 km²8.88 M
Belgium21.09.2017Western Europe31,000 km²11.48 M
Bulgaria21.09.2017Eastern Europe111,000 km²6.98 M
Canada21.09.2017North America9,985,000 km²37.59 M
Croatia21.09.2017Southern Europe57,000 km²4.07 M
Cyprus21.09.2017Western Asia9,250 km²1.20 M
Czechia21.09.2017Eastern Europe79,000 km²10.67 M
Denmark21.09.2017Northern Europe43,000 km²5.82 M
Estonia21.09.2017Northern Europe45,000 km²1.33 M
Finland21.09.2017Northern Europe338,000 km²5.52 M
France21.09.2017Western Europe549,000 km²67.06 M
Germany21.09.2017Western Europe358,000 km²83.13 M
Greece21.09.2017Southern Europe132,000 km²10.72 M
Hungary21.09.2017Eastern Europe93,000 km²9.77 M
Ireland21.09.2017British Isles70,000 km²4.94 M
Italy21.09.2017Southern Europe301,000 km²60.30 M
Latvia21.09.2017Northern Europe64,000 km²1.91 M
Lithuania21.09.2017Northern Europe65,000 km²2.79 M
Luxembourg21.09.2017Western Europe2,590 km²0.62 M
Malta21.09.2017Southern Europe320 km²0.50 M
Netherlands21.09.2017Western Europe42,000 km²17.33 M
Poland21.09.2017Eastern Europe313,000 km²37.97 M
Portugal21.09.2017Southern Europe92,000 km²10.27 M
Romania21.09.2017Eastern Europe238,000 km²19.36 M
Slovakia21.09.2017Eastern Europe49,000 km²5.45 M
Slovenia21.09.2017Southern Europe21,000 km²2.09 M
Spain21.09.2017Southern Europe506,000 km²47.08 M
Sweden21.09.2017Northern Europe447,000 km²10.29 M

Former member countries

United Kingdom31.01.2020British Isles244,000 km²66.83 M

Dependent territories

Some of the above member states have other dependent outlying areas. These are not independent states, but they do have some economic and political autonomy. The treaties concluded by the CETA apply to them at least in part. However, these countries are not listed as official member states.

Åland IslandsNorthern EuropeTerritory of Finland
ArubaCaribbeanTerritorium des Niederländischen Königreiches
Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and SabaCaribbeanTerritory of the Netherlands
Faroe IslandsNorthern EuropeTerritorium des dänischen Königreiches
French GuianaSouth AmericaTerritory of France
French PolynesiaPolynesiaTerritorium Frankreichs
French Southern and Antarctic LandsAntarcticaTerritory of France
GreenlandNorth AmericaTerritorium des dänischen Königreiches
GuadeloupeCaribbeanTerritory of France
MartiniqueCaribbeanTerritory of France
MayotteEastern AfricaTerritory of France
New CaledoniaMelanesiaTerritorium Frankreichs
ReunionEastern AfricaTerritory of France
Saint BarthelemyCaribbeanTerritory of France
Saint MartinCaribbeanTerritory of France
Saint Pierre and MiquelonNorth AmericaTerritorium Frankreichs
Sint MaartenCaribbeanautonomes Territorium des Niederlandischen Königreichs
Wallis and FutunaPolynesiaTerritorium Frankreichs