ASEAN - Association of Southeast Asian Nations

ASEAN is an alliance of currently 10 member states in Southeast Asia with the aim of working together both economically and politically. The seat is currently based in Singapore. One of the models for the current economic area was the European Union. The predecessor of ASEAN, founded on August 8, 1967, is the ASA Association (1961-1967).

There are also several different agreements between the members in which numerous ASEAN member states also participate in order to strengthen the economic community:

ARF ("ASEAN Regional Forum") for Security
AFTA ("ASEAN Freetrade Area") for a free trade zone
AIA ("ASEAN Investment Area") for direct investments

All member states comprise a total area of 4.49 million km² and about 660.62 million people. This is 3.0% of the habitable area around the world and 8.6% of the world population.
Brunei1984Southeast Asia5,770 km²0.43 M
Burma1997Southeast Asia677,000 km²54.05 M
Cambodia1999Southeast Asia181,000 km²16.49 M
Indonesia1967Southeast Asia1,914,000 km²270.63 M
Laos1997Southeast Asia237,000 km²7.17 M
Malaysia1967Southeast Asia330,000 km²31.95 M
Philippines1967Southeast Asia300,000 km²108.12 M
Singapore1967Southeast Asia719 km²5.70 M
Thailand1967Southeast Asia513,000 km²69.63 M
Vietnam1995Southeast Asia331,000 km²96.46 M