Members of the APEC - Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation

The APEC is a trade agreement of currently 21 countries mainly located in Southeast Asia and in East Asia.

All member states comprise a total area of 62.87 million km² and about 2.92 billion people. This is 41.8% of the habitable area around the world and 38% of the world population. With an economic output of 52,764.68 trillion US dollars annually, they represent around 60 percent of the global economy.
Australia1989Australia/New Zealand7,741,000 km²25.36 M
Brunei1989Southeast Asia5,770 km²0.43 M
Canada1989North America9,985,000 km²37.59 M
Chile1994South America757,000 km²18.95 M
China1991East Asia9,563,000 km²1,397.72 M
Hong Kong1991East Asia1,110 km²7.51 M
Indonesia1989Southeast Asia1,914,000 km²270.63 M
Japan1989East Asia378,000 km²126.26 M
Malaysia1989Southeast Asia330,000 km²31.95 M
Mexico1993Central America1,964,000 km²127.58 M
New Zealand1989Australia/New Zealand268,000 km²4.92 M
Papua New Guinea1993Melanesia463,000 km²8.78 M
Peru1998South America1,285,000 km²32.51 M
Philippines1989Southeast Asia300,000 km²108.12 M
Russia1998Eastern Europe17,098,000 km²144.37 M
Singapore1989Southeast Asia719 km²5.70 M
South Korea1989East Asia100,000 km²51.71 M
Taiwan1991East Asia36,000 km²23.60 M
Thailand1989Southeast Asia513,000 km²69.63 M
United States1989North America9,832,000 km²328.24 M
Vietnam1998Southeast Asia331,000 km²96.46 M

Dependent territories

Some of the above member states have other dependent outlying areas. These are not independent states, but they do have some economic and political autonomy. The treaties concluded by the APEC apply to them at least in part. However, these countries are not listed as official member states.

American SamoaPolynesiaselbstregiertes Territorium der USA
Christmas IslandAustralia/New Zealandnicht selbstregiertes Territorium Australiens
Cocos (Keeling) IslandsAustralia/New Zealandnicht selbstregiertes Territorium Australiens
GuamMicronesiaselbstregiertes nicht-inkorporiertes Territorium der USA
Heard Island and McDonald IslandsAustralia/New ZealandTerritory of Australia
MacaoEast AsiaSonderverwaltungszone Chinas
Norfolk IslandAustralia/New ZealandTerritorium Australiens
Puerto RicoCaribbeannicht-inkorporiertes Territorium der USA
TokelauPolynesiaTerritorium Neuseelands
Virgin IslandsCaribbeanselbstregiertes Territorium der USA