Western European Time (WET)

The differences of the several time zones to each other are always specified in relation to the "Coordinated Universal Time" (UTC), the time on the prime meridian (zero longitude). The Western European Time is consistent with UTC +0.

Countries with the Western European Time, in which a switch to daylight saving time is common, turn the clock forward by 1 hour in summer. Like this they switch to Western European Summertime (WEST) and reach UTC +1.

The Western European Time applies to 5 countries.

Countries in WET

The Western European Time applies to the following countries:

CountryRegionStandard timeDST
Faroe IslandsFaroeWETWEST
Western SaharaEl AaiunWETWEST

Further Countries in the same timezone of UTC +0

Although the timezone is named "Western European Time", it has mostly politcal reasons. It simply means that eg beginning and ending of daylight saving time always uniformly apply here. There are some other countries, in which the clock strikes just the same hour. These countries have the same temporal distance to UTC (Universal Time Coordinated):