Western European Summertime (WEST)

The WEST is the daylight saving time (also called summertime) of the Western European Time (WET). The differences of the several time zones to each other are always specified in relation to the "Coordinated Universal Time" (UTC), the time on the prime meridian (zero longitude). In the summer the clocks are switched ahead by 1 hour.

The Western European Summertime is consistent with UTC +1 and applies to 5 countries.

Countries in WEST

The Western European Summertime applies to the following countries:

CountryRegionStandard timeDST
Faroe IslandsFaeroeWETWEST
Western SaharaEl AaiunWETWEST

Further Countries in the same timezone of UTC +1

Although the timezone is named "Western European Summertime", it has mostly politcal reasons. It simply means that eg beginning and ending of daylight saving time always uniformly apply here. There are some other countries, in which the clock strikes just the same hour. These countries have the same temporal distance to UTC (Universal Time Coordinated):

AlgeriaAlgiersCentral European Time (CET)
AngolaLuandaWest Africa Time (WAT)
BeninPorto-NovoWest Africa Time (WAT)
CameroonDoualaWest Africa Time (WAT)
Central African RepublicBanguiWest Africa Time (WAT)
ChadNdjamenaWest Africa Time (WAT)
Democratic Republic of the CongoKinshasaWest Africa Time (WAT)
Equatorial GuineaMalaboWest Africa Time (WAT)
GabonLibrevilleWest Africa Time (WAT)
GuernseyGuernseyBritish Summertime (BST)
IrelandDublinIrish Summertime (IST)
Isle of ManIsle of ManBritish Summertime (BST)
JerseyJerseyBritish Summertime (BST)
NigerNiameyWest Africa Time (WAT)
NigeriaLagosWest Africa Time (WAT)
Republic of the CongoBrazzavilleWest Africa Time (WAT)
TunisiaTunisCentral European Time (CET)
United KingdomLondonBritish Summertime (BST)