Zeitzone in India

India Standard Time (IST)

The differences of the several time zones to each other are always specified in relation to the "Coordinated Universal Time" (UTC), the time on the prime meridian (zero longitude). The India Standard Time is consistent with UTC +5:30.

The India Standard Time does not have an associated daylight saving time.
The India Standard Time applies only to India.

Countries in IST

The India Standard Time applies to the following countries:

CountryRegionStandard timeDST
IndiaKolkataISTno DST

Further Countries in the same timezone of UTC +5:30

Although the timezone is named "India Standard Time", it has mostly politcal reasons. It simply means that eg beginning and ending of daylight saving time always uniformly apply here. There are some other countries, in which the clock strikes just the same hour. These countries have the same temporal distance to UTC (Universal Time Coordinated):

Sri LankaColomboMyanmar Time (MMT)