Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)

The differences of the several time zones to each other are always specified in relation to the "Coordinated Universal Time" (UTC), the time on the prime meridian (zero longitude). The Greenwich Mean Time is consistent with UTC +0.

Countries with the Greenwich Mean Time, in which a switch to daylight saving time is common, turn the clock forward by 1 hour in summer. Like this they switch to British Summertime (BST) and reach UTC +1.

The Greenwich Mean Time applies to 22 countries.

Countries in GMT

The Greenwich Mean Time applies to the following countries:

CountryRegionStandard timeDST
Burkina FasoOuagadougouGMTno DST
GambiaBanjulGMTno DST
GhanaAccraGMTno DST
GreenlandDanmarkshavnGMTno DST
GuineaConakryGMTno DST
Guinea-BissauBissauGMTno DST
IcelandReykjavikGMTno DST
Isle of ManIsle of ManGMTBST
Ivory CoastAbidjanGMTno DST
LiberiaMonroviaGMTno DST
MaliBamakoGMTno DST
MauritaniaNouakchottGMTno DST
Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da CunhaSt HelenaGMTno DST
Sao Tome and PrincipeSao TomeGMTno DST
SenegalDakarGMTno DST
Sierra LeoneFreetownGMTno DST
TogoLomeGMTno DST
United KingdomLondonGMTBST

Further Countries in the same timezone of UTC +0

Although the timezone is named "Greenwich Mean Time", it has mostly politcal reasons. It simply means that eg beginning and ending of daylight saving time always uniformly apply here. There are some other countries, in which the clock strikes just the same hour. These countries have the same temporal distance to UTC (Universal Time Coordinated):