Zeitzone in Chile

Easter Island Standard Time (EAST)

The differences of the several time zones to each other are always specified in relation to the "Coordinated Universal Time" (UTC), the time on the prime meridian (zero longitude). The Easter Island Standard Time is consistent with UTC -5.

The Easter Island Standard Time does not have an associated daylight saving time.
The Easter Island Standard Time applies only to some parts of Chile.

Countries in EAST

The Easter Island Standard Time applies to the following countries:

CountryRegionStandard timeDST
ChileEasterEASTno DST

Further Countries in the same timezone of UTC -5

Although the timezone is named "Easter Island Standard Time", it has mostly politcal reasons. It simply means that eg beginning and ending of daylight saving time always uniformly apply here. There are some other countries, in which the clock strikes just the same hour. These countries have the same temporal distance to UTC (Universal Time Coordinated):

BahamasNassauEastern Standard Time (EST)
BrazilRio BrancoAcre Time (ACT)
CanadaTorontoEastern Standard Time (EST)
Cayman IslandsCaymanEastern Standard Time (EST)
ColombiaBogotaColombia Time (COT)
CubaHavanaCuba Standard Time (CST)
EcuadorGuayaquilEcuador Time (ECT)
HaitiPort-au-PrinceEastern Standard Time (EST)
JamaicaJamaicaEastern Standard Time (EST)
MexicoCancunEastern Standard Time (EST)
PanamaPanamaEastern Standard Time (EST)
PeruLimaPeru Time (PET)
United StatesNew YorkEastern Standard Time (EST)