British Summertime (BST)

The BST is the daylight saving time (also called summertime) of the Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). The differences of the several time zones to each other are always specified in relation to the "Universal Time Coordinated" (UTC), the time on the prime meridian (zero longitude). In the summer the clocks are switched ahead by 1 hour.

The British Summertime is consistent with UTC +1 and applies to 4 countries.

Countries in British Summertime

The BST applies to the following countries:

CountryRegionStandard timeDST
Isle of ManIsle of ManGMTBST
United KingdomLondonGMTBST

Further Countries in the same timezone of UTC +1

Although the timezone is named "British Summertime", it has mostly politcal reasons. It simply means that eg beginning and ending of daylight saving time always uniformly apply here. There are some other countries, in which the clock strikes just the same hour. These countries have the same temporal distance to UTC (Universal Time Coordinated):