Atlantic Standard Time (AST)

The differences of the several time zones to each other are always specified in relation to the "Universal Time Coordinated" (UTC), the time on the prime meridian (zero longitude). The Atlantic Standard Time is consistent with UTC -4.

Countries with the Atlantic Standard Time, in which a switch to daylight saving time is common, turn the clock forward by 1 hour in summer. Like this they switch to Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) and reach UTC -3.

The Atlantic Standard Time applies to 26 countries.

Countries in Atlantic Standard Time

The AST applies to the following countries:

CountryRegionStandard timeDST
AnguillaAnguillaASTno DST
Antigua and BarbudaHalifaxASTADT
ArubaArubaASTno DST
BarbadosBarbadosASTno DST
Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and SabaKralendijkASTno DST
British Virgin IslandsTortolaASTno DST
CanadaBlanc-SablonASTno DST
CuracaoCuracaoASTno DST
DominicaDominicaASTno DST
Dominican RepublicSanto DomingoASTno DST
GrenadaGrenadaASTno DST
GuadeloupeGuadeloupeASTno DST
MartiniqueMartiniqueASTno DST
MontserratMontserratASTno DST
Puerto RicoPuerto RicoASTno DST
Saint BarthelemySt BarthelemyASTno DST
Saint Kitts and NevisSt KittsASTno DST
Saint LuciaSt LuciaASTno DST
Saint MartinMarigotASTno DST
Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesSt VincentASTno DST
Sint MaartenLower PrincesASTno DST
Trinidad and TobagoPort of SpainASTno DST
Turks and Caicos IslandsGrand TurkASTEDT
Virgin IslandsSt ThomasASTno DST

Further Countries in the same timezone of UTC -4

Although the timezone is named "Atlantic Standard Time", it has mostly politcal reasons. It simply means that eg beginning and ending of daylight saving time always uniformly apply here. There are some other countries, in which the clock strikes just the same hour. These countries have the same temporal distance to UTC (Universal Time Coordinated):