Member states of the OECD

The abbreviation OECD stands for Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development. It is an alliance of 36 member states. Most of them have an above-average economic level with a higher income.

The 36 member states cover an area of 36.33 million km² and about 1.32 billion inhabitants. This corresponds to 24.04 percent of the world's habitable area and 16.68 percent of the world's population.

Official website:
Map of member countries: OECD
Australia197125.69 M7,741,000 km²
Austria19618.96 M84,000 km²
Belgium196111.59 M31,000 km²
Canada196138.25 M9,985,000 km²
Chile201019.49 M757,000 km²
Czechia199510.51 M79,000 km²
Denmark19615.86 M43,000 km²
Estonia20101.33 M45,000 km²
Finland19695.54 M338,000 km²
France196167.75 M549,000 km²
Germany196183.20 M358,000 km²
Greece196110.64 M132,000 km²
Hungary19969.71 M93,000 km²
Iceland19610.37 M103,000 km²
Ireland19615.03 M70,000 km²
Israel20109.36 M22,000 km²
Italy196159.11 M301,000 km²
Japan1964125.68 M378,000 km²
Latvia20161.88 M64,000 km²
Lithuania20182.80 M65,000 km²
Luxembourg19610.64 M2,590 km²
Mexico1994126.71 M1,964,000 km²
Netherlands196117.53 M42,000 km²
New Zealand19735.12 M268,000 km²
Norway19615.41 M385,000 km²
Poland199637.75 M313,000 km²
Portugal196110.33 M92,000 km²
Slovakia20005.45 M49,000 km²
Slovenia20102.11 M21,000 km²
South Korea199651.74 M100,000 km²
Spain196147.42 M506,000 km²
Sweden196110.42 M447,000 km²
Switzerland19618.70 M41,000 km²
Turkey196184.78 M785,000 km²
United Kingdom196167.33 M244,000 km²
United States1961331.89 M9,832,000 km²

Origin of the OECD

The predecessor of the OECD was the OEEC, the Organisation for European Economic Co-operation. After the Second World War, the USA, Canada and 20 European states joined forces to coordinate the reconstruction in Europe. The basis was the Marshall Plan from the United States, with which loans, raw materials and goods worth over 13 billion US dollars at the time flowed into Europe as part of an economic stimulus program. OEED was founded in Paris in 1949.

Goals and financing

After the reconstruction and termination of the Marshall Plan, the international community was continued and expanded under the name OECD. Other economic nations, such as Japan, Australia and South Korea, joined the alliance. A forum for optimal economic development and promotion was created, which is also active beyond the borders of the participating states. Developing countries, for example, are promoted specifically.

The OECD is financed by its member states, i.e., ultimately by taxpayers' money. The amount of the contributions is measured on the basis of the economic strength of the respective country. Traditionally, the USA has been the largest donor by far, followed by Japan and Germany. In addition, individual countries can also finance special projects. For example, the Pisa studies have been made possible by this.

The main tasks are the discussion of problem areas and the analysis of economic data such as productivity, flows of goods and capital. On the basis of the results, the OECD then makes "policy recommendations" to promote the free movement of goods and capital. These results and recommendations are not legally binding on individual countries.

Dependent territories

Some of the above-mentioned member states have other external territories dependent on them. These are not independent states, but they do have some economic and political autonomy. The OECD treaties apply to them at least in part. These countries are not listed as official member states.

ÅlandNorthern EuropeTerritory of Finland
American SamoaPolynesiaSelf-governing territory of the USA
AnguillaCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
ArubaCaribbeanTerritory of the Netherlands Kingdom
BermudaNorth AmericaSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Bouvet IslandSouth AmericaTerritory of Norway
British Indian Ocean TerritoryEastern AfricaTerritory of the United Kingdom
British Virgin IslandsCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Caribbean NetherlandsCaribbeanTerritory of the Netherlands
Cayman IslandsCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Christmas IslandAustralia/New ZealandNon-self-governing territory of Australia
Cocos IslandsAustralia/New ZealandNon-self-governing territory of Australia
Falkland IslandsSouth AmericaSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Faroe IslandsNorthern EuropeTerritory of the Danish Kingdom
French Antarctic LandsAntarcticaTerritory of France
French GuianaSouth AmericaTerritory of France
French PolynesiaPolynesiaTerritory of France
GibraltarSouthern EuropeSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
GreenlandNorth AmericaTerritory of the Danish Kingdom
GuadeloupeCaribbeanTerritory of France
GuamMicronesiaSelf-governing unincorporated territory of the United States
GuernseyNorthern EuropeAutonomous Crown Dependency of the United Kingdom
Heard and McDonaldAustralia/New ZealandTerritory of Australia
Isle of ManNorthern EuropeAutonomous Crown Dependency of the United Kingdom
JerseyNorthern EuropeAutonomous Crown Dependency of the United Kingdom
MartiniqueCaribbeanTerritory of France
MayotteEastern AfricaTerritory of France
MontserratCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
New CaledoniaMelanesiaTerritory of France
Norfolk IslandAustralia/New ZealandTerritory of Australia
Northern MarianasMicronesiaTerritory of the United States
Outlying IslandsMicronesiaTerritory of the United States
Pitcairn IslandsPolynesiaBritish overseas territory
Puerto RicoCaribbeanUnincorporated territory of the US
ReunionEastern AfricaTerritory of France
Saint BarthelemyCaribbeanTerritory of France
Saint HelenaWestern AfricaLimited self-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Saint MartinCaribbeanAutonomous territory of the Netherlands Kingdom
Saint Pierre and MiquelonNorth AmericaTerritory of France
South GeorgiaSouth AmericaTerritory of the United Kingdom
St. MartinCaribbeanTerritory of France
SvalbardNorthern EuropeTerritory of Norway
TokelauPolynesiaTerritory of New Zealand
Turks and Caicos IslandsCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the United Kingdom
Virgin IslandsCaribbeanSelf-governing territory of the USA
Wallis and FutunaPolynesiaTerritory of France