The timezone EAT in Comoros

Timezones are always computed by their difference to UTC, the "Universal Time Coordinated". In Comoros exists only a single tonezone at UTC+3. E.g. New York is currently at UTC-4 in Eastern Time, so the time difference between NY and Comoros is 7 hours.

Comoros has no time difference between summer and winter. A daylight saving time doesn't exist.

Back to overview: Comoros

Only 1 nationwide time zone

Standard time:East Africa Time (EAT)
Daylight saving time:none

Comoros has an east-west extension of 1.3 degrees of longitude. Given the country's location in Eastern Africa, this corresponds to about 140 kilometers. With such a small extent the course of the sun at different positions in the country hardly matters. The position of the sun in the west of the country deviates from that in the east only about 5 minutes. This means the sun rises and sets 5 minutes later in the west than in the east.

The East Africa Time also applies in Madagascar and in Mayotte.

No daylight saving time in Comoros

Due to the sun's orbit around the equator, the days are longer in summer (November to February in the southern hemisphere). Countries that switch to daylight saving time in the summer months align the daylight phase with the human rhythm. Unused bright morning hours are thus shifted into the evening (more information on daylight saving time here).

Due to its proximity to the equator, the impact in Comoros would not be particularly large. Moroni is located just 1,300 km from the equator. A day in midsummer would then not last from 05:39 to 18:31, but from 06:39 to 19:31. The effect would be quite noticeable in the evening, but the sun rising later in the morning falls at a time when many people are already awake. Thus, daylight saving time was never introduced in Comoros.
Comoros: Sunrise + sunsetSunrise and sunset in ComorosTimes of sunrise and sunset for the most important cities in Comoros and the avg. length of daylight per month
Countries with DSTAll Countries with DSTA summary of all countries which currently observe Daylight Saving Time with further info on introductions and upcoming changes.
Arab LeagueMember states of the Arab LeagueThe 22 members of the Arab League, incl. area and population.